Whether your teen is just about to begin driver's education, has a learner’s permit and recently began driving, your influence matters.
Parental involvement in a teen's driver education is not only essential but mandatory.
Ohio teenagers are not only required to complete driver education training at a certifed driving school; they are required to drive a minimum of 50 hours with a parent/guardian, 10 of those driving hours to include night time driving. The driving time is recorded on an affidavit that is issued along with your teenager's temporary driver's license.
Obtaining a Temporary Driver's License
Temporary Permit Procedure
The Ohio BMV and the Ohio State Highway Patrol implemented measures to increase efficiency and security when issuing temporary driving permits.
Texting and Driving is Dangerous
Driving while text messaging or fiddling with any electronic devicer is dangerous -- even more hazardous than talking on a cell phone, a new study shows.
- Experts say driving while texting is leading factor in automobile accidents
- Several states have ban driving while texting
- Studies show 46 percent of drivers ages 16 to 17 admit to texting while driving
- Electronic Virtual Assistant lets you dictate text message responses
Texting while driving is so dangerous it's caught the attention of the Senate who have pushed a bill to ban texting while driving, after a study found that drivers who text while on the road are much more likely to have an accident than undistracted drivers. States that do not enact text-banning laws within two years of the bill's passage could lose 25 percent of their federal highway funds.
Review the cell phone driving laws.
Tips for Parents of Teen Drivers
Posted on January 27, 2007 by Deniese Clark
Nothing can be more nerve wracking to a parent than that first time you sit on the passenger side of the vehicle while your son or daughter takes the seat behind the wheel. But some tips for parents of teen drivers can help teach them to be both safe and confident.
Unfortunately, teen drivers have the highest collision rate of any other driving age group, with those who have driven less than a year at the top of the list. While worrying will always go hand in hand with raising kids, there are a few things parents can do to ease their worry.
Pro Driving School